4.1 Million Americans Injured Every Year at Work

According to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, every year, more than 4.1 million Americans workers are injured on the job. Those injuries can range from carpal tunnel syndrome to a severe personal injury such as breaking a leg or sometimes even wrongful death, caused by their job. For approximately 25% people of those people, their workplace injuries and illnesses are severe enough to warrant workers compensation. Fortunately, workers' compensation laws have been created in every state to protect individuals who are … [Read more...]

Workers Compensation: Employer’s View

Your Employer Can’t “Punish” You for a Work Injury South Carolina Law is on your side, just ask the attorneys at The Strom Law Firm, LLC. As an injured worker, you may fear that your employer may retaliate against you for filing and seeking compensation for a workers’ compensation claim. Employees also worry about cooperating in the investigation of and/or testifying in support of an injured co-worker. In most states, employees have a legal right to be protected from workers’ comp retaliation. If you encounter retaliation from your … [Read more...]

How do I Pursue Damages from a Third Party?

You’re Entitled to more than Workers Comp Recovery. You may have more payment rights under the law than you initially thought. If you’re a victim of a work injury, it’s possible to receive further monetary compensation in addition to your workers’ compensation claim. In severe injury cases, third-party financial recoveries are often greater than the benefits an injured worker receives from workers' compensation. In a third-party claim, an injured worker may be permitted to recover future and past medical expenses, loss of earnings, loss … [Read more...]

Injured Worker Quick Facts

What You Should Know If You Are Hurt On The Job In SC: If you are injured on the job, you have 90 days to inform your employer of your injury. There are exceptions to the general rule, including situations where a disease or illness did not develop until after exposure. Once your employer is notified, you must file a claim with the Workers’ Compensation Commission within 2 years of the accident in order to receive benefits. If your check is late, you do have some recourse. South Carolina law requires your employer to pay you on time. … [Read more...]