Anyone can file a workers comp claim for a work-related injury on their own. The South Carolina Worker’s Comp Commission is supposed to oversee conflicts that arise between the injured employee and the employer’s insurance company.
If you or someone you love has been hurt at work, you need to act quickly before it is too late.
If it’s been more than 90 days since your work accident occurred, you may need help obtaining benefits for medical treatment and lost wages. You can contact The Strom Law Firm’s work injury lawyers to discuss the facts of your case at no charge.
Report all injuries at work to your company immediately and if needed get medical treatment. If you do not report the injury within 90 days of the accident you could possibly lose your benefits.
In all cases, you have up to two years to file a benefits claim. In the unfortunate incident where a worker dies because of work-related injuries, the worker’s dependents, must also file a claim within two years of the death to claim benefits.
How do I file a claim?
As an employee, you should not have to personally file a claim. You can submit a claim directly to the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission if:
• Your employer fails to report your injury or denies your injury.
• You do not think you received all your workers’ compensation benefits.
You have 2 years to file a Workman’s Compensation Claim in the state of South Carolina, as long as you reported your work-related injury to your employer within 90 days of the incident. Even if you no longer work for the same employer, you can file within the two-year window.
If you have to file a workers’ comp claim, odds are that you are already in a dispute situation with your employer. Call The Strom Law Firm, LLC today (866-490-2847) to discuss the facts of your case for free. You can also complete the no-cost confidential case consultation form at the top right. Founded by former US Attorney Pete Strom, the attorneys at Strom Law Firm know how to fight for their clients.